Manager's Tips and Tools

by Manager Development Services

Tool #69) Setting the Foundation (Ground Rules)



  • What’s expected of a person as an individual.
  • What’s expected of a person as a “member of the family.”
  • My function as manager.

It is important for an employee to understand that this work environment is going to be unlike any other work environment they have experienced.  And because this environment will be different, they will need assistance in understanding what is expected of them as an individual, what is expected of them as a “member of the family,” and what my function is as manager.

What’s expected as an individual

It’s my job to let them know that what is expected of them as an individual is to be open and honest in all their dealings, to ask for help, to be willing to learn, to grow, to change, and to learn responsibility for themselves as a human being.  They must be willing to “wrap their brain” around new and unusual concepts.  They must be willing to believe in themselves.

What’s expected as a “member of the family”

What is expected of them as a “member of the family” is to respect the inner dignity of each and every other family member, to accept that they are not alone, and understand that what affects one effects all.  They are expected to honor themselves by, first and foremost, honoring others.

  • No disrespecting
  • No backbiting
  • No gossiping
  • No alliances
  • No sabotaging

My function as manager.

I tell them that my function as manager is to “serve” them.  I will not judge; I will not manipulate; and I will not coerce.  My main objective is to provide them with everything within my power to allow them to grow to their full potential.  And once they reach their potential, my function then is to guide them in discovering a new and even higher potential.

It is important that the individual hear me say these words, but it is imperative that I believe these words.  If I don’t believe these words, then I shouldn’t say them.  The individual must hear these words come out of my mouth.  These words will sound “corny” to them, and at first, to me too.  But that’s OK.

– excerpt from “The Manager’s Toolbox”

October 1, 2011 - Posted by | Counseling Techniques, Leadership Skills, Manager Development Tools, Mentoring, Personal Development | , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

