Manager's Tips and Tools

by Manager Development Services

What are Your Success Factors?



Defining “Success Factor”

“Success Factor” pertains to the elements involved in a process which are critical in achieving a goal.  In any process, there are a number of steps necessary to align a goal (see chapter 14), keep it on track, evaluate the goal, and see it through to fruition.  Some steps are compulsory, some are obligatory, and some are critical.

Critical steps are “Success Factors.”  These are steps which are essential and must be present if a goal is to be achieved.  They cannot be forgotten, set aside, or manipulated.  Without these steps, success cannot happen.

Example: If my goal is to drive my car, I must have:

.       (1)   my car (critical)  I can’t drive it if I don’t have it.

.       (2)   keys  (compulsory)  I could “hot-wire” it.

.       (3)   gasoline (critical)  It won’t even turn on, let alone move, without fuel.

.       (4)   wheels (critical)  Without wheels, it can’t move.

.       (5)   properly inflated tires  (compulsory)  Poorly inflated tires will still move.

.       (6)   automobile insurance (obligatory)  Unfortunately, we all know this isn’t critical.

Although the compulsory and obligatory steps do enhance the quality and effectivity of my goal, they are not critical in achieving my goal.  As manager, I value and attend to all steps.  If my goal is worthwhile, I want to achieve it with the highest quality possible.  But I want to pinpoint, and pay particular attention to, the critical.  Because if I miss a critical step, there is absolutely no chance of success.

One such “success factor” in a person’s professional life is “Career Mindedness.”

Discerning Success Factor

If, as previously stated in chapter 6, a manager’s primary goal is to produce long-term, sustainable results, it is imperative that I have an understanding of each employee, each position, each process, each procedure, my department, and my department’s customer.  I can only discern the “success factors” for the business as a whole, if I first discern the “success factors” for each of these areas individually.  By studying the goals in each individual area, I can identify the process required for achieving each goal.  Once I have identified the process, I can then identify the compulsory, obligatory, and critical steps (or success factors) within each process necessary to achieve each goal.

Once I discern the “success factor” for a particular area, I can then set and implement standards with which to monitor effectivity within that area.  Since each area will have its own “success factors,” it also follows that each area will have its own set of standards.

NOTE:  Standards are designed to ensure the initiation of “Success Factors.”

I then conduct to Standards using the principles of Managing from the Heart.

Steps to Success:

Purpose defines Vision

Vision determines Goals

Goals dictate Success Factors

Success Factors determine Standards

Standards ensure Effectivity

This, in and of itself, is also a process which I conduct on an ongoing basis, constantly checking for harmony among Vision, Goals, and Standards.  I am constantly “tweaking” Standards while fine tuning my instruments.

– excerpt from “Monitoring the Pulse of Your Staff”


September 5, 2011 - Posted by | Counseling Techniques, Employee Coaching, Leadership Skills, Manager Development Tools, Mentoring, Personal Development, Self-esteem | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

