Manager's Tips and Tools

by Manager Development Services

Understanding “Real” Power (part 4 of 4)



Empowering Your Department

As manager, I harvest the benefits of a staff which primarily manages themselves, allowing me to focus on effectivity within my department.  Instead of constantly dealing with petty squabbles, playing policeman, and coming up with new ways of boosting morale, I’m able to pursue training and education and explore refinement of effectivity.

concept #35

When employees manage themselves, the manager has the

freedom to pursue vision for the growth of the company.

With the loyalty and allegiance of my staff, I am free to pursue the process of empowering myself.  This enables me to broaden my abilities which I can then, in turn, share with my staff.  When one succeeds, all succeed.  This is a continual refinement of process, inspiring innovation and creativity.  Eventually, staff will monitor its own pulse and conduct its own symphony.

One fear most managers have is what will happen to their departments if they’re gone for a few days.  Most managers spend countless hours “getting things ready” before they can feel safe enough to take time-off.  All managers dread returning to the piled up work and chaos created in their absence.  I’d be a rich man if I had a dime for each time I’ve heard, “It’s not worth taking a vacation to come back to this,” or “I need a vacation after my vacation.”

How often have you wondered, or worried, about what is going on back at the office when you’re suppose to be relaxing and recuperating from the stress?  How many phone calls have you made or received when you were needed by your kids or a now irritated spouse?

Today, I’m able to go on a vacation or attend a week-long seminar, and when I return, I find things running smoothly.  Please understand, I am always available by cell phone and email, but it’s rare when I get a call concerning something which cannot be handled by staff.  Because each individual of my staff monitors process and because each person is open to ask for and offer help, the department hums by itself.  Employees who effectively manage themselves and one another – what a concept!

Each person on my staff is viewed as a professional in their respective position and gladly accepts responsibility for the effectivity of their position.  Because each is competent, self-motivated, and viewed as a professional, I defer to their expertise. I get out of their way and let them do what they do best.  I would no more tell my custodian how to clean than I would tell my surgeon how to operate.  With the understanding that no position is more important than any other and the belief that when one hurts all hurt, my staff is proactive in monitoring and assisting one another.

*     *     *     *     *

Empowering Your Business

Every business owner and management team is concerned primarily with two things: the bottom line and how it equates to long-term sustainable growth.  The object of business is to allocate its resources in the most efficient and profitable way possible.  A business’s most valuable resource, and the most difficult to manage, is its people.  This resource consumes the most time, energy, and effort to monitor and control, while also being the most expensive and unpredictable.

Many managers would opt for a fully automated department rather than have to control the chaos of problems and issues, which are created by personalities and territories.  And this is the real problem: the traditional manager tries to “control.”  Why managing people is so frustrating is because the harder I try to control the more control I lose, and the more control I lose the harder I try to control.

Enter Open Heaven and Managing from the Heart.  An Open Heaven environment fosters a staff of career-minded individuals working collectively for the bottom line.  This staff is vested – has ownership – in the business and

is concerned with the effectivity of the business.  They equate the success of the business with their own personal success.  A Manager from the Heart nurtures staff to cultivate genuine concern for the well-being of the business, and thus, strive to produce long-term sustainable results. As previously mentioned, the relationship between the individual’s success and the success of the business becomes symbiotic.

With “ownership” comes allegiance.  Each individual becomes a raving fan of his or her department and the business as a whole.  Each learns to discern who their customers are and commits themselves to cultivating raving fans.  Each raving fan created by an individual is not just a raving fan of that particular individual, but also a raving fan of the department and the business itself.

As individuals grow, striving to realize their potential, they will eventually mature to a place where they will venture out to build their own boxes.  With them they will take a set of principles and standards, a process, and a philosophy which conceives a commitment of benevolence for the world they live in.  This, in turn, enables them to affect the lives of others who will in turn affect the lives of more.  This is the essence of social responsibility.

Sending others out into the world to spread a philosophy which honors the inner dignity and rights of each and every human being is a pretty noble legacy if you ask me.

-excerpt from “Managing from the Heart – A Way of Life”

May 15, 2011 - Posted by | Counseling Techniques, Employee Coaching, Leadership Skills, Manager Development Tools, Mentoring | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

