Manager's Tips and Tools

by Manager Development Services

Understanding “Real” Power (part 1 of 4)



With the defining of Purpose, the inspiring of Passion, and the refining of Process comes Power.  Many individuals struggle their whole lives in the acquisition of power and become lost in the process.  The acquisition of this type of power becomes an all-consuming hunger, which can never be satisfied.  This is because very few individuals ever know what real power is.  What most people understand as power is in reality only an illusion.

Power – real power – is not control.  It’s not authority.  It’s not commanding.  It’s not wielding judgment.  It’s not striking fear in the hearts of others, nor is it forcing others against their will.  These are only props which bolster the illusion, and in fact, are illusions themselves.

Power – real power – comes from within, not without.  Real control comes from giving up control.  Real authority comes only by submitting.  To truly command, one must follow.  Real power is when others desire to follow you.  Real power is when one is unshackled from the limits he or she has self-imposed and becomes willing to experience possibilities.  Real power is viewing life as an adventure, which gets to be lived instead of a task, which has to be gotten through.

(concept # 34)

Real Power comes from reclaiming the Power we give others

By exercising my rights as a human being and taking responsibility for the choices I make, I begin the ascent out of living in victimhood.  I no longer live at the whim of others’ opinions and actions.  I decide how I will respond to any given situation instead of taking my cue from someone else.  I decide what values and principles I will honor and want to live by.  I decide what I am willing and not willing to allow in my life.  I choose my own beliefs and I respect myself for them.  I live with integrity by disciplining myself to make sure my behavior is congruent with my beliefs and principles.  I affect my environment instead of my environment affecting me.

I no longer have to prove myself to anyone.  I recognize and accept my inherent value and revel in the knowledge that I am worthy and good enough just the way I am.  I am not perfect, I will never be perfect, and I don’t have to be.  In other words, I am perfectly imperfect – I am human.

Note:

Mahatma Gandhi freed a nation.

Nelson Mandela was imprisoned for twenty-seven years, but he was free.  They took away his liberty, but they couldn’t take away his freedom.

*     *      *     *     *

 

The Power of Responsibility

When I exercise responsibility over my life – my actions, my choices, my opinions, my goals, my attitude, and my principles, I gain a blessed freedom to direct my life. I decide where I want to go, what I want to do, and how I want to do it.  I accept my bricks and refuse to pick up any more.

By accepting responsibility, I answer to myself instead of someone else.  If I choose, I can work on throwing away my bricks and healing my pain.  I can recognize which bricks are mine and which are others.  I let others carry their own bricks and am no longer affected by their issues.  I reclaim power over my life and no longer give it away to others.

Responsibility allows me to affect my environment to change what I do not like, and create what I do like.  Responsibility spawns purpose and invokes passion – a desire to live – to grow.  Without responsibility, there can be no growth as a human being and no realized potential.

When my staff assume personal responsibility, I no longer need to monitor compliance to procedures.  They will monitor themselves.  Responsibility promotes self-motivation, which nurtures self-esteem, which inspires career-mindedness.  They become “invested” in their position and view it as an opportunity, a stepping stone, to the fulfillment of their personal vision.  Their personal vision and the vision of the business become symbiotic, interrelated.

-excerpt from “Managing from the Heart – A Way of Life”

May 7, 2011 - Posted by | Counseling Techniques, Employee Coaching, Leadership Skills, Manager Development Tools, Mentoring, Personal Development | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

