Manager's Tips and Tools

by Manager Development Services

The Power of Vigilance


A Manager from the Heart is vigilant, constantly observing the culture and monitoring the pulse of staff.  Since his primary goal is to produce long-term sustainable results, he must be aware of everything and everyone in his charge.  From attitudes, to Red Flags, to process, and even to landscaping, he is responsible for an environment in which staff can be free to pursue their potential.

It is also a manager’s responsibility to observe and identify politics, personalities, and territories of forces both outside and inside the company, which do not subscribe to the Open Heaven philosophy.  And once identified, he must run interference for his staff by clearing these boulders and pebbles.

Outside Forces

Vigilance is also needed in identifying politics, personalities, and territories when dealing with others outside of my company.  I cannot expect other business owners or managers to operate or even understand Managing from the Heart philosophy.  If I am to protect my staff when dealing with these individuals or entities, I must understand the philosophy and psychology of traditional managers.  I must keep in mind that they will jealously guard their kingdoms or territories, and any perceived intrusion will be regarded as an act of war.

Politics, when dealing with such entities, are often delicate and obscure.  For such an entity to feel secure and unthreatened, it’s important for the proper channels and chain of command to be followed.  This is a whole different world from Open Heaven, in which effectivity of interconnectedness is encouraged.

In the traditional world of business, principles like honesty, integrity, responsibility, and trust (four of the seven CORE Competencies) are openly revered and given “lip service,” but rarely practiced.  In fact, these principles are often interpreted by many business people as weaknesses to be exploited.  These principles may be exploited in a child, but in a manager who is vigilant, conducts himself accordingly, inspects what he expects, and understands traditional managers adherence to these principles become enduring strengths.  Power, “real power,” is derived directly from these enduring strengths.

By understanding traditional managerial philosophies I can recognize the inherent dangers of the politics and territories of outside entities.  I can then initiate safeguards and boundaries to keep my staff from wandering into a “mine field.”

When I or my staff do violate the politics or territories of others outside of our company, repercussions can be severe.  Not only is my department’s working relationship with the outside parties affected, but I can also count on fallout filtering down from my upper management.  It’s my job to be vigilant and run interference, clearing boulders and pebbles from the path. 

Inside Forces

As with outside forces, I must be vigilant in identifying politics, personalities, and territories within my company as well.  Though my department and the individuals within my department may thrive in an Open Heaven environment, it is imperative I remain alert to the consequences of violating the politics or territories of those departments, or branches, or divisions, which are not Managing from the Heart.

I have worked for companies owned and/or operated by traditional managerial-types with “old school” thinking.  Fear of change cripples their ability to explore new possibilities.  I have witnessed this “Old Ship” or “Ivory Tower” mentality set up departments, or branches, or divisions as though they were separate, autonomous kingdoms and then actually encourage them to go to war with one another.  The idea is that competition will keep both departments sharp and “on their toes.”  But in reality, civil war only ripples out to all areas of a company, creating fear, anger, apprehension, and the desire to sabotage one another.

I must remember that I can only control what I can control, and I must possess the wisdom to recognize what that is.  I must become as skilled at reading Red Flags, Body Language, Floating Balloons, and Peeling the Onion when dealing with upper management as I am with my staff.  I must be willing to compromise, and at times even sacrifice, goals and standards – but never CORE Competencies.  No one can compromise CORE Competencies without betraying himself and his staff.

– excerpt from “The Manager as Orchestra Leader”

April 30, 2011 - Posted by | Counseling Techniques, Employee Coaching, Leadership Skills, Manager Development Tools, Mentoring, Personal Development | , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

