Manager's Tips and Tools

by Manager Development Services

What are the Best Interview Questions? (part 4 of 5)


Interviewing someone to fill a vacant position can be daunting for a manager.  Many managers just don’t know what to ask or why to ask it.  In our book, “The Manager’s Toolbox,” we have 67 questions that can guide a manager through the interview process.

A “Manager from the Heart” hires to the position, while keeping the “bigger picture” in mind.  I   look for someone who will be compatible to working in an “Open Heaven” environment.  I want someone who is teachable.  I can do almost anything with someone who is teachable.

First of all, I am the one who interviews the individual, not someone from personnel.  It’s important I chose my staff and not someone who will never see them again and has no idea what I want in my staff.

46.  What salary are you looking for?

This will give me an idea whether or not they are living in reality, undervalue (or overvalue) their self, have done their homework, and are motivated.

47.  Would you be willing to work evenings or weekends?  What about overtime?

This clues me in to their motivation (their willingness) to do whatever it takes.  If they’re not willing and the position doesn’t require it, I could hire them anyway.  But this question still gives me awareness of their limitations.

48.  Would you be willing to relocate if necessary?

Again, this question testifies to this person’s level of commitment.

49.  If necessary, are you willing to put the welfare of the company ahead of your interests?

I’m looking for honesty and willingness to be a team player.  By reading body language, it’s easy to discern when this person is full of bull.

50.  Is the work or money more important to you?

If the money is more important, then they’re looking for a job.  If the job is more important, they’re either lying or they’re looking for a career.  I’m looking for someone who sees them both important.

51.  What are the qualities you would like to see in your boss?

This can tell me a lot about a person’s insight, work ethic, and previous relationships with bosses.

52.  Tell me about a time when you made a suggestion that changed your workplace?

This can show whether they’ve ever had “ownership” of a position or “buy in” to a workplace environment.

53.  What are some examples of your ability to work under pressure?

This is an opportunity for them to show off by recanting some of their attributes.  It also gives me a good idea what they consider “stress.”

54.  What do you find is your biggest problem when working under pressure?

After they’ve “shown off,” it’s time to get real.  If they claim to not have any problems under pressure then they’re either lying or living in denial.  If they claim to thrive under pressure, I wonder if they also create pressure just so they can thrive.

–  excerpt from “The Manager’s Toolbox”


March 30, 2011 - Posted by | Counseling Techniques, Employee Coaching, Leadership Skills, Manager Development Tools, Mentoring | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

