Manager's Tips and Tools

by Manager Development Services

What are the Best Interview Questions? (part 2 of 5)


Interviewing someone to fill a vacant position can be daunting for a manager.  Many managers just don’t know what to ask or why to ask it.  In our book, “The Manager’s Toolbox,” we have 67 questions that can guide a manager through the interview process.

A “Manager from the Heart” hires to the position, while keeping the “bigger picture” in mind.  I   look for someone who will be compatible to working in an “Open Heaven” environment.  I want someone who is teachable.  I can do almost anything with someone who is teachable.

First of all, I am the one who interviews the individual, not someone from personnel.  It’s important I chose my staff and not someone who will never see them again and has no idea what I want in my staff.

15.  What would your coworkers say are your greatest strengths?

This will give me insight to how this person thinks others see him.

16.  What motivates you to be your best?

This is indicative of where this person’s priorities lay.

17.  Do you think you might be overqualified for this position?

If so, then why does this person want it?  This is a warning sign for me.  This person will probably only be around long enough to get a better job.

18.  Would your particular skills or talents be better suited for another position?  If so, what?

This gives me an idea of what position this person is really interested in.

19.  What would previous employers say are your weaknesses?

This gives me an idea how honest and forthcoming this person is.

20.  What would your coworkers say your weaknesses are?

This gives me an idea how “in tuned” with others he is.

21.  What do you think your weaknesses are?

This tells me how “in tune” with himself he is.

22.  What have you done to resolve your weaknesses?

This tells me how aware and proactive this person is in their personal growth?

23.  Why did you leave your last place of employment?

From this question, I should be able to detect levels honesty, culpability, openness, resentment, and/or responsibility.  This can be a “Red Flag” if, by reading body language, I feel this person is being dishonest.

24.  Have you ever been fired or asked to resign from a position?  And if so, why?

Again, I should be able to detect levels honesty, culpability, openness, resentment, and/or responsibility.

25.  How would you describe your work ethic?

This tells me how this person sees himself.

26.  What’s most important to you, the work or the money?

I am looking for someone who is honest and teachable.

27.  Do you feel you get along well with others?  And if so, how?

I expect everyone to say yes, but I find they have to give some thought to “how?”  This question clues me in to what they think of their coworkers.

28.  Do you consider yourself a team player?  And if so, why?

Again I expect yes, but “why” should give me insight to what role they usually assume.

29.  When working on a team project, what position on the team are you most comfortable with?  Why are you comfortable?

This should give me some insight as to whether they are a leader or a follower and how much of a role (and responsibility) they are willing to assume.

–  excerpt from “The Manager’s Toolbox”


March 26, 2011 - Posted by | Counseling Techniques, Employee Coaching, Leadership Skills, Manager Development Tools, Mentoring | , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

