Manager's Tips and Tools

by Manager Development Services

What are the “Red Flags” for a Manager? (part 1 of 2)


The process of self-critiquing is an instrumental tool in helping me identify red flags within myself. If I stop and think about it, I can almost always attribute red flags to me breaking one or more of the CORE Competencies. Each of the following red flags is a warning signal that I have somehow gotten off track, and am on my way to burnout.

1) I become careless about sharing confidential information. An individual’s confidence, or trust, is the most precious gift I receive in the workplace. And because it’s so valuable, I must treat it as such. I cannot counsel, mentor, or orchestrate without the trust and confidence of my staff. They will deliberately work at remaining distant and closed with me, negating my ability to help or guide them.

2) I begin thinking I’m irreplaceable. This is just outright arrogance. There is no one so exceptional that they are irreplaceable. This is probably the fastest way to alienate people and lose respect. Someone had my position before me and someone will have it after me, and the world will go on.

3) I develop a “God complex.” The more proficient I become at counseling and mentoring, the more danger there is of developing the belief that staff need me to save them from themselves. Without my guidance, they would just be wandering souls stumbling through mediocrity – but don’t worry, I’m here to save them.

Once I give them all the training, counseling, and wisdom in my power, I cannot take credit for their triumphs, nor should I blame myself for their failures. When I begin thinking I am the cause of someone’s success or destruction, I am “playing God.”

4) I begin talking down to or at others. This dehumanizes people, making them feel like objects or functions. This will cause resentment in my employees while smothering passion. This is a sign of frustration within me, and I need to discover where this frustration is really coming from.

5) I stop paying attention or listening to my employees. This is disrespectful and insulting. They feel unimportant and frustrated. Feeling that I don’t care about what’s important to them, they stop communicating and stop trying.

6) I stop delegating or I begin to micromanage. If I hire a person to do a job, then I need to get out of their way – not in their way. If I am micromanaging, an employee will hesitate, lose initiative, and begin to second guess both himself and me. Once again, I am disrespecting his abilities and talents. I am, in a sense, saying he or she is not competent to perform this task (and if this person is not competent, then why is he or she working for me in the first place?).

7) I begin talking over people, using jargon and technical terms. This is a good way to frustrate and distance my employees. This is not communicating. They will begin to avoid interaction with me and stop asking for feedback, clarification, or advice. If I really want someone to understand me, then I must speak in a clear and precise manner and in terminology which is understandable.

8) Reluctance or fear of terminating people. I must remember that my primary responsibility is to protect my staff. In Open Heaven, people feel safe, supported, and unified, and this won’t happen if they have to walk on eggshells or carry someone else’s load. If I shirk this responsibility I injure the business, my staff, and the individual in question. As intimidating and unpleasant as terminating someone can be, I am actually doing this person a service (see chapter 17) while earning respect from the rest of my staff.

-excerpt from “Managing from the Heart – A Way of Life”


October 17, 2010 - Posted by | Counseling Techniques, Employee Coaching, Leadership Skills, Manager Development Tools, Mentoring | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

