Manager's Tips and Tools

by Manager Development Services

What’s the One Tool you should use every Morning?


TIME  is the most important cost factor in doing business.  The amount of man-hours wasted by each and every individual on a yearly basis could easily pay off the national debt.  The frustrating thing about this waste is that most of it isn’t due to negligence or laziness.  It’s caused simply by misuse of time.  Repetition, duplication, poor planning, confusion, interruptions, distractions — they all eat up a large part of a person’s workday.

1)  Ten minutes of planning saves a day of confusion. It’s often difficult when I’m really busy to stop and take a few minutes to just organize and plan what I’m going to do that day.  At first it feels like if I take this ten or fifteen minutes out of my day, I’ll get even further behind.  But in reality, if I don’t stop and take the time, I end up jumping back and forth from one thing to another, having to go back and redo things, and I end up wasting much more time in the process.

Take 10 or 15 minutes to write yourself a Perpetual “To Do” list. This list is basically a priority list in which tasks are crossed off, others moved to the top, and still others added in order of urgency or importance.  Each morning, I go over my list from the previous day and transpose what didn’t get done to today’s list.

You’ll find that this list becomes a living, breathing tool.  Just organizing what needs to be done reduces needless repetition.  And it’s important that you organize in a way that makes sense and is easiest for you.  One person’s planning book may be clumsy for another.  I find that my desk blotter calendar shows me a whole month of appointments, meetings, and tasks at a glance.  I also find that my email calendar reminder is very helpful for reminding me before an important event.

It’s important to find what works for you.  Whether you use a planner, notepad, calendar, or email, organizing and planning saves time and sanity.

– excerpt from “The Manager’s Toolbox”


October 4, 2010 - Posted by | Counseling Techniques, Employee Coaching, Leadership Skills, Manager Development Tools, Mentoring | , , , , , , , , , , , , , ,

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

